Fresh Jalapenos stuffed with Cream Cheese Filling

This is my favorite stuffed jalapeno recipe. An easy appetizer, or even a side dish for dinner. You can even make the filling a day in advance if you’re short on time.

stuffed jalapenos

Stuffed jalapenos with bacon crumbled on top.

Ingredients:

1 (8 ounce) package of cream cheese, soften

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

1 cup sour cream

1 cup cheddar, shredded

2 whole black olives, pitted and minced

6 stalks of green onions, chopped

Batch of jalapenos (10-15), halved with seeds and veins removed

5 slices of bacon, chopped and fat rendered

This is the order of how I make these.

I first grab the bacon and using a pair of sharp kitchen scissors, I cut the slices into small pieces directly into a pan. Turn the pan on medium-low to medium. Let the bacon cook until all the bacon fat has been rendered. Drain the bacon and place on a plate with a paper towel to further remove any grease.

Remove the packet from the cream cheese and place into a large bowl. Add cumin, garlic powder, salt, pepper.

I usually buy a container of whole black olives from the deli section at the grocery store. I take out what I need to use and store the rest in a mason jar in the fridge. Grab two, carefully slice around the pit and take the pit out of the olives. Then proceed to mince them. Toss the minced olives in your large bowl with the rest of your ingredients.

I also love to save the roots of green onions and let them regrow so that I can use them another time or two. Wash and dry six stalks of green onions (1 bunch). Chop about two inches above the roots, place the bottoms of the green onions in a shallow dish or glass and cover the roots with water. Place in a sunny windowsill and change water every couple of days. Remove and discard any wilted leaves. I use both the white and green parts, chop into small slivers. Add those to your bowl of goodies.

Grab a cheese grater and grate approximately 1 cup of cheese on the small side of the grater. I use the small grates because I think it mixes easier with the rest of the ingredients. My favorite cheese is called Red Dorset Cheddar from the coast of England. It’s a smidge more expensive, but a little goes along way. It’s the yummiest cheddar. Smokey and delicious! I usually use a combination of the red Dorset and regular cheddar. I never measure out one precise cup either, I just eyeball it. I don’t think anyone has ever minded if it’s a bit on the cheesy side. Add that to your bowl.

Dorset Red Cheddar

Dorset Red Cheddar

Bowl of ingredients for cream cheese filling.

Bowl of ingredients.

Measure out one cup of sour cream and add that to your bowl. Using two wooden spoons, mix and combine until the cream cheese has blended in with the rest of your ingredients. Place in fridge once combined.

Cream cheese filling.

Cream cheese filling.

I always save the jalapenos for last because if you get a particularly spicy batch, your hands will be burning for a bit from the oils. Wash and dry your batch of jalapenos. Halve them and remove all the veins and seeds with a spoon.

Halved Jalapenos

Jalapenos cut in half.

Jalapenos with seeds and veins removed.

Jalapenos with seeds and veins removed.

Once done all you have to do is add your filling to the jalapenos.  Grab a big dish or container. Line it with paper towels or a clean towel. The jalapenos will get soggy otherwise if put directly onto the dish/container. Fill the jalapenos and place into dish. Once done, top with bacon, and enjoy! I’ve done it both ways with the bacon inside the filling and with the bacon on top. I do prefer it topped with bacon. Also, we don’t like black olives, but I always include it when I make this recipe. Delish!

Stuffed jalapenos topped with bacon.

Stuffed jalapenos topped with bacon.

Left over fillings with crackers.

Any left over filling is delish as a dip for crackers.

One thought on “Fresh Jalapenos stuffed with Cream Cheese Filling

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Jalapenos | Monkey & Squish Blog

I would love to hear your thoughts!

