Art and other Randomness

If you have been following along, then you know I have been doing the 30 Day “Photog Wanna Be” Challenge hosted by Two Everyday Divas. It has been such a blast! I look forward each day to see how each lady interprets the challenge. I can’t believe we are already 26 days into the challenge! Soon it will be over and it will be just a fun memory. Insert sad face here. I will forever cherish the fun times!

Since the challenge is winding down, I decided to join in on the Daily Prompts from the Daily Post. Today’s prompt is Wall to Wall.

What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?

001

Some people think the sun shines out of their ass.

This is one of my favorite things we have displayed in our home. Dana and I created this a few months back and it has been sitting on a bookshelf leaning against the wall since it’s been completed. We still giggle at it from time to time.

002

Monk & Squish Art Wall

 Besides the sunburst there is an assorted variety of art pieces I’ve made over the years. There are only three photos displayed in our home. One is framed and sits on a shelf, taken six and half years ago on our first date at the beach in Carmel, California. Another is a picture taken by a friend at a Halloween party we attended a couple years ago. We dressed up as the Flintstones. You can see it hanging on Monk & Squish’s art wall in their play room. The last is a photo of Danas’ brother and his family, also hanging on the art wall.

Along with the art, we have a small collection of prisms that hang on both the kitchen windows. One window is on the east side of the house and the other is on the west. Throughout the day, various prisms will scatter rainbows across the ceilings, walls and floor depending on the position of the sun. If our house had a theme, I would call it happiness. Light, love and bright colors.

What are your favorite things you have hanging around your home? Does it bring you comfort or inspiration? Does it remind you of happy times or does it fill you with sadness?

Thank you for stopping by.

14 thoughts on “Art and other Randomness

    • Thank you Sherylyn! I love it because it’s one of the few (art) projects that Dana and I worked on together. The rest of the art found in our home is created by me or the kids (if you count paintings, coloring, etc…)

    • Thanks so much! I need to add another string to the top of the art wall to utilize the space up there, it’s just one of those things on the to-do list that keeps getting pushed back. Thank you for your thoughts and for stopping by.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Wall to Wall | MythRider

  2. Pingback: Another Thing On The Wall, Part II – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  3. I came by to say thank you. I wrote the “I built a Canoe” but lost it. I couldn’t figure out what I did with it. I must have been tired that day. I had no idea that I’d posted it as a page. Thanks to your like, I found it. I’m moving it to a post and will repost it next week.
    Sometimes we can do the silliest things. ;0)

    • Aww, You’re welcome. That was the first thing that caught my eye. That’s quite an achievement and definitely having friends come over periodically would motivate me to finish a project too. I have handfuls of unfinished projects that I tell myself I’ll finish them later, and later never comes. But lucky for me, they’re not as big or time consuming as a boat. I look forward to seeing your posts on my reader. Thank you for checking out my blog. It’s new and I’m not a writer, but I hope you enjoy reading it.

      • Thanks for Joining. I hope you will be entertained.
        May time allow for you to finish your projects.
        Just a suggestion – if you blog about them, you might be inspired to finish.

      • So far I do like your blog and photography.
        Wish I could have been there for the eclipse.
        If you were close by, I’d invite you to the women’s craft night at my church. You’d have lost of encouragement to get things done.

        • Thank you! Dana and I were driving home from dinner when I snapped that photo. I’m surprised that it came out as good as it did. I expected it all to be blurry. I’m actually a home body. I like to spend time with my little family and that’s about it. Even friends whom we consider family we only see a few times a year.

  4. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge-Favorite Photos | Monkey & Squish

I would love to hear your thoughts!

