Little Free Library

Trivial Pursuit: Book Lovers Edition Game PieceA while back I came across an article that introduced me to the Little Free Library.
I was instantly in LOVE with the idea. Both Monkey and Squish love books.
We have a few bookshelves that are overflowing with all kinds of books.
On a recent trip to our favorite local park a few days ago, I noticed two boxes in between the playground and the community garden, right off the walking trail. I instantly recognized the two boxes and exclaimed to Dana very excitedly “Ohhh yay! Little Free Library!” Dana had no idea what I was talking about, or why I was so excited.
Little Free LibraryIn simple terms, Little Free Library is a book exchange.
You are welcomed to take a book, leave a book or do both.

We ended up taking two books from the shorter box. The taller box seemed to be filled with books for older readers and the shorter one was geared towards our younger readers. I chose one book and Monkey chose another. I explained to Monkey that since we were taking a couple of books, when we get home she would have to choose a few books she is willing to part with so we can put it in the little box the next time we go back to the park. Monk was so excited about her new books she asked me to read them to her right then and there, I told her we would read them as soon as we got home (which we did). I saw many families go up to the Little Free Library after we checked it out. They opened the box and looked at the books but we were the only ones that picked out a couple of  books to take home.

Little Free Library
Little Free Library
Little Free Library
I’ve decided to keep a few books in the diaper bag, just in case we happen across another Little Free Library box. I’m so excited about this new addition to our favorite park. Not only can the kids make some new friend and get out some energy, we also have the opportunity to get our hands on a couple of new books for free. All around WIN!

For more information: Little Free Library.

Original article that I came across that introduced me to Little Free Library:
Book It: Bring a Mini Library to Your Front Yard

Thanks so much for stopping by!
-XOXO Lysa

7 thoughts on “Little Free Library

I would love to hear your thoughts!

