Brooch Necklace

It has been a many months since I’ve picked up my pliers and crafted any jewelry.
This Friday of course is Valentines Day, and I wanted a statement piece to wear with my planned outfit. We’re heading out to the Thinkery in Austin for a fun family day. Here in Harker Heights, it’s really laid back. You don’t see many people wearing statement pieces. I wore my crystal bow necklace yesterday when we took the kids to the park and felt a bit out-of-place with that much sparkle. In Austin, however you can get away with lots of things I wouldn’t normally wear, for example this necklace that I made earlier.

Brooch Necklace | Vintage Glass Beads | Vintage Rhinestone Brooch
That brooch was given to me by a dear friend a few years ago. I have loved it since the day it arrived in the mail. I’ve been wanting to do something with it, I hated seeing it sit on my shelf collecting dust. I used vintage jet black glass beads and of course that beautiful vintage rhinestone brooch. I believe the brooch is made out of acrylic rhinestone, even then it’s still a pretty heavy piece. I love using vintage beads! When I was still making stuff for my etsy shop, majority of the components I used were vintage glass beads & vintage glass rhinestone. Anyhow, here is what the necklace used to look like.

Pink Chrysanthemum Necklace | Vintage Glass Beads, Pink Resin Chrysanthemum
I liked it but after trying it on several times, I felt it needed more beads, but all I had were the ten used in the necklace. I decided to re-work it to incorporate the brooch. I took off the chrysanthemum, added a jumpring to the center of the beads and then added the brooch.

Brooch Necklace (Back) | Vintage Glass Beads | Vintage Brooch
I don’t remember if the pin that secured the brooch to your garment was already broken, or if I took it off. Anyhow, I secured the jumpring to the back of the pin via the clasp that held the pin closed using a “S” type hook that I made from an eyepin. I’m pretty pleased with how it came out. I feel the beads add just a bit of sparkle without taking the attention away from the beautiful brooch.

Brooch Necklace (Worn) | Vintage Glass Beads | Vintage Rhinestone Brooch
This is a link to my favorite vintage jewelry supplier:
Bumbershoot Supplies
Now go and create something fabulous!

What are your thoughts? Too much sparkle?
Have a wonderful day, and thank you for stopping by!
-XOXO Lysa

6 thoughts on “Brooch Necklace

I would love to hear your thoughts!

